OCPD

Another disorder on the Obsessive-Compulsive spectrum is called Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder. Rather than the habitual compulsions of OCD, OCPD involves a general over-concern with perfectionism, control, rules, and orderliness. Sometimes, it can be difficult to tell the difference between the two, as people with one often have at least a few symptoms of the other. However, diagnosis depends on an overall summary of the symptoms. I can be perfectionistic sometimes; but I don’t really have enough obsession with it to meet the criteria for OCPD. The well-known Jack Nicholson movie As Good As It Gets seems to portray a character with both OCD and OCPD — and it certainly is possible to have both, though I don’t know how common it is.

It seems to me that the link between OCPD and tics is less strong than OCD and tics, but I would be interested in hearing about cases to the contrary.

OCPD is also interesting because it’s more likely to go undiagnosed. Someone who’s just generally overly perfectionistic and enjoys being that way is less likely to even see that they have a problem, and therefore, less likely to seek help. Most people with significant OCD likely get help for it, eventually, but people with OCPD may not, so there could be more people with OCPD than we’re generally aware of.

2 thoughts on “OCPD

  1. Emma Rose says:

    Great post! Thank you so much for sharing your personal experience, I also suffer from OCPD, recently diagnosed. I think that it is very brave of you to put yourself out there like that.
    I believe that any commentary that opens the door for a dialogue about mental illness is a step in the right direction!!! Goood for you!!!

    If you are interested in reading about my personal struggles with OCPD and mental illness please read and follow my blog! @ http://wp.me/p445Fd-Q <—–perfectly obsessed

  2. I originally thought I had OCPD for the longest time. Now I realize it’s not OCPD but my OCD. My plans for the day that were goal oriented eventually got out of hand. I immediately noticed it was a problem whereas if I had OCPD I would have enjoyed it. I also can ask for advice and don’t mind other people doing things. OCPD and OCD are very different. My plans weren’t overly neat and orderly either. Just very very very detailed cuz I needed to know everything. It started to happen in my talking to. I have a need to know things to give myself excessive certainty. Nowadays I can’t plan anything out cuz it makes me insane. but if I have a goal I have to make a plan. so I don’t have to plan if I don’t have goals. sort of like a disability with uncertainty like my brain doesn’t work right. kind of like dudes with a compulsion to count before taking a few steps. anxiety a little bit not as much as my other ocd problems which is why i thought it was ocpd. more like fear of failure and catastrophic thinking.

Leave a Reply

