Lucky?

I was just thinking about how lucky I am that my tics have always been relatively easy to hide.

Some people with TS bark or make animal noises. A small number even swear. I’m fortunate enough that gasping/yawning is usually pretty easy to hide, or at least minimize. Or tell people that it’s allergies, or something.

Then again — if I had more obvious tics, I probably would’ve ended up seeing a therapist sooner, gotten diagnosed earlier, and OCD would’ve screwed up my life a lot less. So maybe I should be ungrateful. I’m not sure.

3 thoughts on “Lucky?

  1. KateZiree says:

    I definitely have obsessive thoughts following this pattern. That’s definitely the biggest question of my life.

  2. thehowlingfantogs says:

    When were you diagnosed, if you don’t mind me asking?

Leave a Reply

