OCD is a Superpower

Sorry if you thought this was going to be a motivational post. It’s not. OCD gives me the following not-so-awesome superpowers:

  • To create problems where problems don’t exist, simply because I’m worried they will happen and end up causing them.
  • To feel like something is not right, or perhaps horribly wrong, when in fact things are pretty normal and OK.
  • To constantly have to filter out lots of nonsense messages, and if I’m not lucky (which is most of the time) my brain continues to send them repeatedly, despite me wishing they would stop.
  • I can second-guess things like you wouldn’t believe. I second-guess, then second-guess my second-guessing, then second-guess that. Then I second-guess the notion that I’ve even been second-guessing at all.
  • To not be able to stop thinking about a problem until it is solved. This might sound like a good thing, and sometimes it is, but most of the time it’s a pain because whatever my brain decides is a problem, isn’t necessarily a problem at all. And sometimes it is a problem, but an intrinsically unsolvable one. Don’t try telling my brain that, though.

So yeah. Give me a cape already. I’m a superhero of doing useless things.

7 thoughts on “OCD is a Superpower

  1. ocdfighter1 says:

    I immediately thought of “Anxiety Girl” http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-PaqfQb_lrVw/UH5QG6E7H3I/AAAAAAAADh4/8vK9lN0n5SI/s400/anxiety-girl.jpg

    I realized that I have a natural talent for overanalyzing things, and sometimes I don’t even realize I’m overdoing it!! I also tend to obsess over “problems” that I (or, better, my “dear” brain) create(s) until I find a solution… it usually takes a lot of rumination. Sometimes I find a solution, yet I get intrusive thoughts about the “problem” afterwards and I have to ignore them…

  2. AMEN SISTER!!!!!!!!!!! You’ve got your own sidekick right over here 🙂 Thanks for posting. It is somewhat of a relief when you know someone else experiences those things.

  3. josiahzero says:

    “To not be able to stop thinking about a problem until it is solved” is certainly useful when the issue is important. Repeatedly tackling totally irrelevant matters is *definitely* a big problem: I can readily identify with that issue. 😀

    • willitbeok says:

      Yep, and it’s like… the more others TELL me it’s irrelevant, or “don’t worry so much,” the more my brain screams “They’re trying to trick you!” or “They just don’t know!” The realization that it’s a false alarm, always has to come from within — otherwise it’s like being told something’s not true when I can see it or hear it.

Leave a Reply

