There’s No Wrong Way to Eat Diseases

Asperger syndrome has been hypothesized as existing on the OCD spectrum? Say whaaaaat, Wikipedia?!

Well, I guess it’s not that far-fetched. I was thinking about how it seems OCD and Tourette’s awareness both have the same color associated with them (teal) and happened to come across this. Maybe I’ll meet someone with autism and we’ll say:

“Hey, you got your autism on my OCD!”
“You got your OCD in my autism!”
“Two great disorders that taste great together.”

There’s no wrong way to be mentally ill/developmentally disabled!

4 thoughts on “There’s No Wrong Way to Eat Diseases

  1. Love your sense of humor………and we certainly need one in this world!

    • willitbeok says:

      Thanks Janet. I often use my humor to deal with things that are upsetting to me, but I have to be careful that it doesn’t become too self-deprecating. Maybe I should blog about that sometime.

  2. Kat says:

    I have a friend who has Asperger’s and I can tell you that it is not like OCD – she and I couldn’t be more opposite in pretty much everything. But, I’m not a mental health professional – so I can’t technically back that up. Thanks for following me – nice to see there are like minds out there!

    • willitbeok says:

      Yeah, I was thinking when I read that on Wikipedia that it struck me as kinda silly. Although I acknowledge that OCD and Asperger’s can appear similar to an outsider, the inner reasons for repetitive behavior can be very different, so to me there seems to be a clear difference. But I’m not an expert either.

Leave a Reply

