Death by Scissors

Scissors

Sometimes I forget how stressed out I can be over scissors. My new mall job has me hyper-aware of my fear of heights; I can’t stand being on the second floor and anywhere even remotely close to the railing where I can see the first floor. Even worse, I’m hyper-aware of the fact that someone could accidentally (or perhaps on purpose) push me off the edge if they carelessly walk by. Or I get this thought like: “OMG I hope I don’t just jump down there; that would be really bad.”

But last night had me reacquainted with an old fear: scissors. Well well well, if it isn’t my old friend, Scissors; so we meet again. How are you, Scissors — besides creepy? I have to work slowly when I work with scissors, and it’s certainly good that I’m not careless with them. But I have to filter out lots of thoughts of anytime anyone I know was injured by scissors or something like scissors. I get images from when I was in school and my art teacher hurt her finger with the paper-cutter. I get images about that time in school when I randomly decided to take the scissors and cut off a very small, unnoticeable portion of my hair just because I could. “I hope I don’t cut my finger just because I can.”

Of course, I never (or extremely rarely) end up injured and when I do, it’s not the injuries I think about or am afraid of happening. But that’s OCD for you.

I’d also like to add that I just generally have a dislike of all small-pointy-sharp type of things. You know how if Christopher Walken were president, the first thing he’d do is get rid of zoos? Let all the animals run free? Well if I were president, the first thing I’d do is get rid of all staples, push-pins, and tacks. And scissors and knives. Those things cause me entirely too much stress. So get rid of sharp things — and let OCD sufferers run free! To find other things to be afraid of.

2 thoughts on “Death by Scissors

  1. Karolina with a K says:

    Oh, now here’s one I can really relate to! “I hope I don’t…” “What if I were to just…” gah! You’re not alone.

  2. OMG I have so long been afraid of scissors it is just part of me. Thanks for making me feel like I am not alone in my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

